RGNT‘s First Electric Motorcycle
Ready For Series Production

A smooth ride to silence the streets.

At first glance, the Regent No. 1 looks to be classically designed retro motorbike. Only on closer inspection is it apparent that where there are normally dials, here there’s a screen. Then when started up it’s clear that the Regent No. 1 has a quiet electric motor instead of a boisterous single-cylinder engine. So it is that the manufacturer RGNT have fashioned a stylish electric motorcycle with a 50s look and a mission to silence the streets.

Industrializing the Electric Motorcycle Battery.

The Swedish firm Regent Motorcycles was founded in December 2018 by Jonathan Aström, with the overt aim of building classically designed motorbikes with environmentally friendly propulsion. RGNT presented the first prototype in May 2019, a move far ahead of most large brands without an electric motorcycle in their range. Exactly one year later the manufacturer came to e.battery systems in the quest to get the model ready for series production. With its retro style all design questions were already answered, so the discussions were about the machine’s core: propulsion and energy storage. From the outset, e.battery systems made clear that in order to get this bike series-ready, the costs of manufacturing would have to go down.

Lithium Motorcycle Battery for Series Production:

  • Redesign with the goal
    of industrialization
  • Material selection optimized
    for efficient production
  • Automated production
  • Process optimization
  • Supplier search
    for subassembly stages
  • Delivery assurance through
    long-term contracts with cell
    manufacturers and electronic suppliers

From Prototype to Market-Ready Electric Motorcycle.

Right in the early stages before motorcycle batteries are even produced, potential analysis is factored in. The goal of the redesign was industrialization and automatic production. Step by step, process optimization took place. Safety was improved and all criteria - from production-optimized component selection to weight and energy content - were taken into consideration.

Christoph Pürmair, Project Leader at e.battery systems, explains:

"In order to get the electric battery for the RGNT motorcycle ready for series production, during the redesign we paid particular attention to using cost-efficient standard components. It was important to us that the motorcycle battery could be produced easily and with little effort. Indeed, many steps were automated to remain competitive in the long term."

Electromobility for a Retro Motorcycle.

While the exterior of the Regent No. 1 reminds one of the 1950s, the inside is packed with the most innovative technology. The bike reaches a top speed of 125 km/h, the lithium motorcycle battery weighs only 60 kg and enables a range of 120 kilometers (highway) to 180 kilometers (city). The battery is located at the center of the electric motorcycle where the engine is normally found. In the Regent No. 1 it imitates an oversized drum brake in the rear wheel – with the practical advantage of recuperating energy in the process. The motorcycle battery can be easily charged via a household power socket, with charging time from 20%-80% in around 3 hours.

The battery powering this beautiful Swedish ride is comprised of some complex parts, including the cells, the BMS (Battery Management System) and the BPU (Battery Protection Unit). As the market viability of this electric motorcycle requires reliability of supply, so some components were produced directly at e.battery systems, while trusted suppliers were chosen for subassembly and guaranteed under long-standing contracts.

ADAC quote:
"Simply put, the No.1 is a visual treat and borrows its design
from classic motorcycles like the Yamaha SR 500."
ADAC

The Retro Electric Motorcycle in Numbers:

  • Motor: Brushless hub motor
  • Transmission: Direct drive
  • Batterie type: Lithium-Ion
  • Peak performance: 11,000 W
  • Steady state: 8,000 W
  • Top speed: 125 km/h
  • Voltage: 72 V
  • Storage capacity: 60 Ah
  • Charge time: 20%-80% 3h
  • Range: 110 km (highway) / > 160 km (city)

The Many Advantages of an Electric Motorcycle.

The latest electric motorcycles on streets around the world are now barely distinguishable from other motorbikes, and come with some impressive stats and specs. Indeed, in both performance and positive environmental benefits, lithium batteries in motorcycles are getting better all the time. Electric motorcycles have been around for a few years already, but they’ve never been as sustainable, efficient and affordable as they are today. The scene is set for electric motorcycles like those from Regent (RGNT) to dominate the market for years to come. And all this without sacrificing either speed, design, or enjoyment. Electric motorcycles offer a variety of driving modes, reach 100 km/h in no time and are just as safe as traditional motorbikes.

Lighter and More Powerful: Lithium Batteries for Motorcycles.

Liquid cooling, light weight, and long range: a winning combination that sets electric motorcycles apart. Given lithium motorcycle batteries’ inherent light weight, this has a direct effect on the bike’s performance and is reflected in its impressive range. When in good hands, a motorcycle battery can also yield a long life span and storage capability. Lifecycles are longer than comparative motorcycle batteries, meaning yearly replacements are a thing of the past. Considering motorcycles often stay in the garage over winter only to be swiftly called into action again in spring, with motorcycle batteries it’s especially important to pay attention to quality. To help you make the right decision from the outset, we can support you in the customized development of high-performing lithium batteries for motorcycles.

The advantages of lithium motorcycle batteries:

 

  • Lithium batteries are unbeatably lightweight.
  • There is no memory effect with lithium-ion batteries.
  • They can be stored for a considerably long time with minimal capacity losses.
  • Lithium batteries can easily go through several thousand charging cycles.
  • Electric motorcycles can be charged in record time.
  • Li-ion batteries cannot leak as they contain no acids.

Customized Development of Motorcycle Batteries.

The range, top speed, and charging time of your motorcycle battery depend on your requirements. Whether coming in unique dimensions or for a niche purpose, e.battery systems is ready for series production. Our development team can adapt lithium motorcycle batteries to your specific requirements, whether that’s for retro motorbikes or sporty naked bikes. Our motorcycle batteries supply power for the starter, ignition, light, horn and more. They’re the beating heart of the electric motorcycle and ensure everything runs smoothly. The standard motorcycle batteries from e.battery systems can be universally implemented and can also be flexibly extended if required. The lithium batteries used are especially low-maintenance, high-performing and long-lasting. The era of acid batteries is over; sustainable motorcycle batteries are here to stay.

Motorcycle Batteries: What to Bear in Mind.

When it comes to your motorcycle, the type of lithium battery, voltage, or tolerance level is to a large extent down to you. There are however a few criteria that we discuss with you in advance prior to developing customized battery solutions. This includes aspects such as:
  • Capacity and range
  • Voltage
  • Dimensions and weight
  • Self-discharge and charge state during storage
  • Tolerance for overcharging
  • Temperature while in use

RGNTs erstes Elektromotorrad
mit Serienreife

Ein Mobile Stromer bringt die Straße zum Schweigen.

Auf den ersten Blick ist die Regent No. 1 ein Klassiker im Retro-Style. Erst beim genauen Hinschauen fällt auf, dass dort, wo sonst die Rundinstrumente sind, ein Display leuchtet. Und spätestens bei der ersten Ausfahrt wird klar, dass die Regent No. 1 statt ruppigem Einzylinder einen leisen Elektromotor hat. Der Hersteller RGNT hat damit einen Mobile Stromer im 50er-Jahre-Look geschaffen, mit der Mission, die Straßen zum Schweigen zu bringen.

Industrialisierung der E-Motorradbatterie

Die schwedische Firma Regent Motorcycles wurde im Dezember 2018 von Jonathan Aström gegründet, um klassisch designte Motorräder mit umweltfreundlichem Antrieb zu bauen. Den ersten Prototypen stellt RGNT im Mai 2019 vor. Damit ist die Firma ihrer Zeit bereits voraus, denn nur die wenigsten großen Marken haben ein E-Motorrad im Programm. Genau ein Jahr später wendet sich der E-Motorradhersteller an e.battery systems, um das Modell mit der Serienreife zu adeln. Durch den Retrostil wurden Designfragen vorab geklärt, es geht also direkt an den Kern der Maschine: Antrieb und Speicher. Von vornerein steht für e.battery systems fest, um den Mobile Stromer marktreif zu machen, müssen die Costs of Manufacturing sinken.

Lithium-Motorrad-Akku wird serienreif:

  • Redesign mit dem Zweck
    der Industrialisierung
  •  Fertigungsoptimierte
    Auswahl neuer Materialien
  • Automatisierung der Fertigung
  • Prozessoptimierungen
  • Lieferantensuche für
    Unterbaugruppen
  • Liefersicherheit durch
    Langzeitverträge mit Zellhersteller
    und Elektronik-Lieferanten

Vom Prototyp zum marktreifen Elektromotorrad

Schon im Frühstadium, bevor es an die Herstellung der Motorradbatterie geht, steht die Potenzial-Analyse an. Ziel des Redesigns sind die Industrialisierung und eine automatisierte Fertigung. Schritt für Schritt startet die Prozessoptimierung. Die Sicherheit wird verbessert und alle Kriterien von der fertigungsoptimierten Bauteilauswahl bis hin zu Gewicht und Energiegehalt werden berücksichtigt.

Christoph Pürmair, Projektleiter von e.battery systems, erklärt:

„Um die Elektrobatterie für das RGNT Motorrad serienreif zu machen, haben wir speziell beim Redesign darauf geachtet, Standardbauelemente in Bezug auf Kosteneffizienz zu verwenden. Uns war wichtig, dass der Aufbau des Motorrad-Akkus einfach und mit wenig Handgriffen produziert werden kann. Viele Schritte wurden automatisiert, um langfristig konkurrenzfähig zu bleiben.“

E-Mobility im Retro-Motorrad

Während die Regent No. 1 von außen an die 50er erinnert, arbeitet in ihrem Inneren innovativste Technik. Sie erreicht eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 120 Kilometern pro Stunde, der Lithium-Motorrad-Akku hat lediglich 60 Kilogramm und macht eine Reichweite von 120 (Highway) bis zu 180 (City) Kilometern möglich. Er sitzt genau in der Mitte des Elektromotorrads. Eigentlich befindet sich hier im Herzen der Maschine der Motor, doch in der Regent No. 1 imitiert dieser eine überdimensionale Trommelbremse im Hinterrad. Praktischer Vorteil: Durch die Rekuperation am Hinterrad wird Energie zurückgewonnen. Geladen wird die Motorradbatterie an der Haushaltssteckdose, die Ladezeit von 20 % auf 80 % liegt bei ca. 3 Stunden.

Der E-Fahrzeug-Akku der „schönen Schwedin“ besteht aus einigen komplexen Bauteilen wie der Zelle, dem BMS (Battery Management System) und der BPU (Batterieschutzvorrichtung). Die Marktfähigkeit des Elektro-Motorrads verlangt nach Liefersicherheit, deswegen wurden für Unterbaugruppen zuverlässige Lieferanten gesucht, einige Bauteile werden direkt bei e.battery systems gefertigt und durch Langzeitverträge mit den Lieferanten gesichert.

Zitat ADAC:
„Die schlicht No.1 genannte Maschine ist ein optischer Leckerbissen und
lehnt sich an das Design von klassischen Motorrädern wie der Yamaha SR 500 an.“
ADAC

Das Retro-E-Motorrad in Zahlen und Fakten:

  •  Motor: Bürstenloser Radnabenmotor
  • Übertragung: Direktantrieb
  • Batterie Typ: Lithium-Ionen
  • Spitzenleistung: 11.000 W
  • Dauerleistung: 8.000 W
  • Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 120 km/h
  • Spannung: 72 V
  • Fassungsvermögen: 60 Ah
  • Ladedauer: ca. 8 Std.
  • Reichweite: 120 km

Warum sich ein E-Motorrad lohnen kann

Die elektrischen Motorräder sind im Straßenverkehr optisch kaum von anderen Motorrädern zu unterscheiden, sorgen aber mit Zahlen und Fakten für Staunen. Die Umweltfaktoren und auch die Performance der Lithium Batterie im Motorrad wird immer besser. Die Elektro Motorräder gibt es bereits seit einigen Jahr, aber so umweltschonend, effizient und leistbar wie heute waren sie noch nie. Es steht alles dafür, dass sich E-Motorräder wie die Regent Motorcycles am Markt langfristig etablieren. Man muss weder auf Geschwindigkeit verzichten noch auf Design und Fahrspaß. Die elektrischen Motorräder bieten unterschiedliche Fahrmodi, erreichen in kürzester Zeit die 100 km/h Grenze und sind genauso sicher wie herkömmliche Motorräder.

Leichter und stärker: Lithium Batterien für Motorräder

Flüssigkeitskühlung, Gewicht und Reichweite – eine Kombi, die die Leistung des Elektor Motorrads ausmacht. Da die Lithium Motorradbatterien echte Leichtgewichte sind, spielt das direkt auf das Leistungskonto der E-Motorräder ein und schlägt sich in einer höheren Reichweite nieder. Wer den Motorradakku gut behandelt, profitiert außerdem von der langen Lebensdauer und der guten Lagerfähigkeit der Lithium Batterien für Motorräder. Der Lebenszyklus ist um einiges länger als bei vergleichbaren Motorradakkus und der jährliche Neukauf ist damit Geschichte. Gerade bei Motorrädern, die während der Wintermonate in der Garage bleiben und im Frühjahr sofort anspringen sollen, ist es wichtig, beim Motorradakku auf Qualität zu achten. Damit Sie von vornherein die richtige Entscheidung treffen, unterstützen wir Sie bei der spezifischen Entwicklung von leistungsstarken Lithium Batterien für Ihre Motorräder.

Vorteile der Lithium-Motorradakkus:

 

  • Lithium Batterien sind unschlagbare Leichtgewichte.
  • Es gibt keinen Memory-Effekt.
  • Sie lassen sich ausgesprochen lange lagern mit minimalen Kapazitätsverlusten.
  • Die Lithium Batterien machen problemlos tausende von Ladezyklen mit.
  • Das Elektromotorrad ist in Rekordzeit aufgeladen.
  • Sie können nicht auslaufen, da sie keine Säure enthalten.

Spezifische Entwicklung der Motorradakkus

Wie schnell Ihr Motorradakku lädt, wie hoch die Reichweite und die Höchstgeschwindigkeit sind, hängt von Ihren Anforderungen ab. Ob spezielle Form oder besonderer Zweck: Nach mehrjähriger Entwicklungsphase ist e.battery systems für die Serienproduktion bereit. Unser Entwicklungsteam passt die Lithium Batterien für Motorräder spezifisch auf Ihre Anforderungen an, ob für Retro Motorbikes oder sportliche Naked Bikes. Die Motorradakkus liefern Energie für den Anlasser, die Zündung, Licht, Hupe und mehr. Sie sind das Herzstück des Elektro Motorrads und sorgen dafür, dass alles läuft. Die Standard-Motorradakkus von e.battery systems sind universell einsetzbar und lassen sich bei Bedarf flexibel erweitern. Zum Einsatz kommen Lithium Batterien für Motorräder, die besonders wartungsarm, leistungsstark und langlebig sind. Die Zeiten der Bleisäure-Batterien sind vorbei, nachhaltige Motorradakkus sind auf dem Vormarsch.

Worauf bei Motorradakkus zu achten ist

Welche Lithium Batterie in Ihr Motorrad passt, wie viel Volt und welche Toleranzen sie hat, richtet sich nach Ihren Wünschen. Es gibt ein paar Kriterien, die wir vorab mit Ihnen festlegen, um sie in der spezifischen Akku-Entwicklung zu berücksichtigen. Hier ein kleiner Einblick:
  • Kapazität und Reichweite
  • Spannung
  • Maße und Gewicht
  • Selbstentladung und Ladezustand bei Lagerung
  • Toleranz bei Überladung
  • Einsatztemperatur