Servus Robots:
Powering a New Generation of Logistics Technology.

An ambitious upgrade for an existing battery system.

ARCs (Autonomous Robotic Carriers) by Servus Intralogistics are small moving units in warehouse systems and can now be found across storage and production facilities in various companies. These autonomous swarm robots adapt to whatever they’re needed for, and help save time, money, and effort.  Simply put, they supply picking stations and production lines with materials. Thanks to their decentralized nature, potential failures in the warehouse system are virtually eliminated.

The inherent flexibility and agility of small transport systems is made possible by intelligent robotic technology, but this in turn banks on a reliable energy supply. Charging in 6-8 seconds several hundred times a day, a lot is asked of this battery pack and its life span is stretched to the limit. Servus Intralogistics encountered problems with their old battery packs, leading them to contact e.battery systems. The possible optimizations were manifold, but the task was clear: to develop an intelligent Battery Management System (BMS) to replace existing battery technology while fulfilling complex prerequisites:
  • Servus ARCs and vehicle control
    should remain the same
  • Existing chargers should remain usable
    (despite a different cell chemistry)
  • Mechanical casing with simple insertion mechanism
  • Accurate calculation of State of Health (capacity)
  • Accurate calculation of State of Charge
    to within 0.5% (charging state)
  • Intelligent control of battery monitors
    and protective circuits
  • Updates via HP battery charger
    should be possible
  • Bidirectional communication
    between battery and HP battery charger
    (for updates und checks)

New Battery Tech, Same Setting.

The key facet of this redesign was the new controller card as part of the integrated BMS. It needed to work simultaneously with 12S1P and 12S2P packs, while improving performance, life span, and charge cycles. Christopher Schöpf, project leader and CEO of e.battery systems, explains: “We managed to adapt a fundamentally different lithium technology (LiFePo4) to a more suitable lithium tech (NMC) – and all without needing to change existing infrastructure such as chargers or vehicle control systems.”

The battery tech for these transport systems was trimmed down in the name of increased durability. The batteries used in Servus ARCs are now able to precisely monitor their conditions, optimize efficiency through features such as deep sleep phases, and show exact charging status. These new features boost battery performance by maximizing charging cycles during operation and minimizing self-discharging during rest periods.

The monitored and configurable parameters of the Servus ARCs:

Monitored values:

Configurable Values:

  • Battery voltage (mV)
  • Voltage of individual cells (mV)
  • Cell voltage difference (mV)
  • Charging current (mA)
  • Discharge current (mA)
  • Internal impedance of the pack (mΩ)
  • Temperature (°C)
  • SoC (State of Charge) (%)
  • Number of battery cycles
  • Capacity (mAh)
  • Charging current (mA)
  • Maximum temperature while charging (°C)
  • Maximum temperature while discharging (°C)
  • SoC (State of Charge) (%)
  • Discharge cut-off voltage (mV)
  • Voltage compensation, capacity, V-difference
  • Max. current protection (mA)
  • Max. voltage protection (mV)
  • Max. permissible cell voltage difference (mV)
  • Reserve energy (mAh)

Mobile Transport Robots and Systems.

The Servus ARCs (Autonomous Robotic Carrier) transport robots are one of innumerable ways of increasing productivity in industry via transportable solutions. In many companies, driverless forklifts, haulers, and the like – also known as automated guided vehicles (AGVs) – are increasingly automating logistics processes. These improve the efficiency, speed, and cost effectiveness of a firm, while simultaneously reducing error rates – a truly win-win situation. However, it’s crucial that driverless transport systems can move around flexibly and reliably. Our lithium battery solutions, responsible for powering these new transport robots, tick all boxes.

Advantages of Automated Guided Vehicles:

  • Optimization of logistics processes
  • Improvement of productivity and efficiency
  • They promote ideal material flows
  • They require relatively little space

Customized Batteries for Automated Guided Vehicles.

As each production facility and warehouse is more or less unique, and no perfect solution exists on the market, our batteries for automated guided vehicles (AGVs) are specially developed according to each requirement. Through project-specific planning and detailed configuration, our implementations help increase production times and output while decreasing costs. We use the very latest technologies and intricate design processes as the basis for improving the quality and safety of transport robots.

A quick glance at what we can do:

  • Making transport robots safer (e.g. thanks to a metal casing)
  • Plentiful energy supply, even with heavy loads
  • Improved efficiency through lithium technology and BMS
  • Small, light, and compact light batteries
  • Optimal power density and maximum safety

Lithium Batteries in Automated Guided Vehicles.

The latest lithium technology provides two decisive and interrelated advantages to AGVs: Firstly, the batteries are truly light weight, and secondly, they boast a massive energy density. This minimal weight in the smallest space makes it possible for transport robots to come in compact form, while the high energy density gives them unbeatable power. Despite their modest size, lithium batteries are extremely durable and ensure reliability and safety in operation.

A further advantage is that automated guided vehicles with lithium technology can be charged very quickly, over thousands of charge cycles. Even after significant downtime, they’re immediately ready for operation. Thanks to in-built intelligent communication, the batteries continuously check their current condition and know when it’s time to charge. In this way, your AGV relieves your employees of this burden while increasing overall efficiency.

Long life span,
countless charging cycles

The batteries will be a long-standing companion for your transport robot, as they can effortlessly go through thousands of charging cycles.

Economical
energy usage

The lightness of the lithium batteries means automated guided vehicles require less energy for operation.

Minimal
self-discharging

With their low rate of self-discharging, the transport robots are immediately deployable even after extended downtimes.

Small, light,
compact

With maximal power in a tiny space, lithium batteries are perfect for automated guided vehicles. They are also extremely robust.

3 Steps to Intelligent Transport Robots.

With automated guided vehicles, intelligent communication is paramount. And seeing as the lithium battery is at the center of everything, this is also the basis for the optimization process. A key part of our battery tech is our Battery Management System, which monitors and controls all important parameters. Through the BMS, there are also optional ports for any communication required, and you have full control over the charging and energy supply of your automated transport system.

1. Configuration

The first step is always the configuration of individual batteries for your transport automation system. This forms the basis of a customized development.

2. Development

Our team of developers conducts various simulations to analyze potentials and find the optimal integration of the batteries into the transport robot.

3. Implementation

Finally, the batteries are integrated into the automated guided vehicle and into your production line.

Servus, Roboter!
Die neue Generation der Logistik.

Ein anspruchsvolles Upgrade für die bestehende Batterie.

Die Servus ARCs (Autonomous Robotic Carrier) sind kleine fahrende Einheiten im Warehouse-System und erobern gerade die Lager- und Produktionsräume vieler Unternehmen. Wofür die selbständig agierenden Schwarmroboter auch gebraucht werden, sie passen sich ihrem Auftrag an und liefern eine Menge Einsparungspotenzial. Kurzum: Sie versorgen die Kommissionierstationen und Produktionslinien mit Material. Durch die Dezentralität des Systems sind Ausfälle im Lagersystem praktisch ausgeschlossen.

Was die kleinen Transportsysteme so agil und flexibel macht, ist die intelligente Robotik und die verlangt nach einer zuverlässigen Energieversorgung. Bei einer Ladezeit von 6 bis 8 Sekunden, mehrere hundert Mal am Tag wird vom Batteriepack einiges abverlangt und die Lebenszeit wird enorm strapaziert. Weil bei den alten Akkus mehrere Probleme auftreten, holt Servus Intralogistics e.battery systems ins Boot. Der Optimierungskatalog ist lang, die Aufgabe klar: Die Entwicklung eines intelligenten Battery Management Systems (BMS), um die bestehende Akkutechnologie zu ersetzen und trotzdem die komplexen Voraussetzungen zu erfüllen:
  • Fahrzeug und Steuerung der Servus ARCs
    müssen unverändert bleiben
  • Ladegerät muss weiterhin nutzbar sein
    (trotz anderer Zellchemie)
  • mechanisches Gehäuse mit einfachem Einführmechanismus
  • korrekte Berechnung des State of Health (Kapazität)
  • bis auf 0,5 % genaue Berechnung
    des State of Charge (Ladezustands)
  • Intelligente Steuerung des Batteriemonitors
    und der Schutzschaltung
  • Aktualisierung über HP-Akkulader
    muss möglich sein
  • bidirektionale Kommunikation zwischen
    Akku und HP-Akkulader
    (für Updates und Checks)

Neu die Akkutechnologie, unverändert das Umfeld

Hauptpunkt der Neugestaltung liegt auf der neuen Steuerkarte mit dem integrierten BMS. Sie muss gleichzeitig mit 12S1P- und 12S2P-Paketen funktionieren sowie Leistung, Lebensdauer und Ladezyklus verbessern. Christopher Schöpf, Projektleiter und Geschäftsführer von e.battery systems, erklärt: „Wir haben es geschafft, eine grundverschiedene Lithiumtechnologie (LiFePo4) auf eine passendere Lithiumtechnologie (NMC) anzupassen. Und das ohne die bestehende Infrastruktur von Ladegerät, Fahrzeugsteuerung, etc. ändern zu müssen.“

Die Akkutechnologie für die Transportsysteme wurde auf Langlebigkeit getrimmt. Die Batterien der Servus ARCs sind nun in der Lage, sich präzise selbst zu überwachen, ihre Effizienz zB durch Tiefschlafphasen zu optimieren und den exakten Ladezustand anzuzeigen. Die neuen Features machen die Batterie leistungsfähiger, indem sie die Ladezyklen während des Betriebs maximieren und die Selbstentladung während der Pausen minimieren.

Die überwachten und konfigurierbaren Parameter der Servus ARCs:

Überwachte Werte:

Konfigurierbare Werte:

  • Batteriespannung (mV)
  • Zellspannung jeder Einzelzelle (mV)
  • Zellspannungsdifferenz (mV)
  • Ladestrom (mA)
  • Entladestrom (mA)
  • Interne Impedanz des Packs (mΩ)
  • Temperatur (°C)
  • SoC (%)
  • Anzahl der Batteriezyklen
  • Kapazität (mAh)
  • Ladestrom (mA)
  • Maximale Temperatur bei Ladung (°C)
  • Maximale Temperatur bei Entladung (°C)
  • SoC (%)
  • Entladungs-Abschaltspannung (mV)
  • Ausgleichspannung, Kapazität, V-Differenz
  • Max. Stromschutz (mA)
  • Max. Spannungsschutz (mV)
  • Max. zulässige Zellspannungsdifferenz (mV)
  • Reserveenergie (mAh)

Mobile Transport Roboter und Systeme

Die Servus ARCs (Autonomous Robotic Carrier) Transport Roboter sind eine von zahlreichen Möglichkeiten, [VM1] den industriellen Bereich mit mobilen Lösungen produktiver zu machen. In vielen Unternehmen automatisieren u.a. auch selbstfahrende Stapler und Schlepper – sogenannte fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS) – nach und nach die Logistik. Sie erhöhen die Effizienz, die Geschwindigkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit eines Unternehmens und senken gleichzeitig die Fehlerquote. Win-Win. Wichtig ist nur, dass sich ein fahrerloses Transportsystem flexibel bewegen und zuverlässig arbeitet. Für beides sorgen unsere Lithium Batterien, die für den Antrieb der Transport Roboter verantwortlich sind.

Vorteile der fahrerlosen Transportfahrzeuge:

  • optimieren die Logistik
  • verbessern die Produktivität und Effizienz
  • fördern den idealen Materialfluss
  • brauchen relativ wenig Platz

Spezifische Akkus für fahrerlose Transportsysteme

Da jede Produktion, jedes Lager einmalig ist und am Markt oft keine perfekte Lösung angeboten wird, werden unsere Batterien für fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS) nach Maß für Sie entwickelt. Durch die spezifische Planung und die detaillierte Konfiguration sitzt am Ende jeder Schritt in der Produktionslinie. Die produktiven Zeiten steigen, die Kosten sinken und die Ausbringungsmenge wird erhöht. Wir orientieren uns an innovativen Technologien, durchdachten Designs und optimalen Performances. Das ist die Basis, mit der wir die Qualität und Sicherheit der Transport Roboter verbessern.

Ein Einblick in unsere Möglichkeiten:

  • Transport Roboter sicherer machen (zB durch ein Metallgehäuse)
  •  ausreichend Energie auch bei Schwerlasten
  • verbesserte Effizienz durch Lithium-Technologie und BMS
  • kleine, kompakte und leichte Akkus
  • optimale Leistungsdichte und hohe Sicherheit

Lithium-Batterien in fahrerlosen Transportsystemen

Die Lithium-Technologie bringt in fahrerlosen Transportsystemen (FTS) zwei entscheidende Vorteile: Zum einen sind die Akkus echte Leichtgewichte, zum anderen haben sie eine enorme Energiedichte. Das minimale Gewicht auf kleiner Fläche gibt den Transport Robotern die Möglichkeit, eine kompakte Form anzunehmen. Die hohe Energiedichte gibt ihnen ihre Power. Trotz ihrer geringen Größe sind die Lithium-Batterien extrem belastbar und sorgen während des Betriebs für Zuverlässigkeit und Sicherheit.

Good to know ist auch, dass die fahrerlosen Transportfahrzeuge mit Lithium-Technologie sehr schnell geladen werden können und tausende von Ladezyklen mitmachen. Auch wenn sie längere Standzeiten hinter sich haben, sind sie sofort einsatzbereit. Dank intelligenter Kommunikation prüft die Batterie selbst laufend ihren aktuellen Zustand und weiß, wann Zeit zum Laden ist. Auf diese Art entlastet Ihr fahrerloses Transportsystem Ihre Mitarbeiter und steigert die Effizienz.

Lange Lebensdauer,
viele Ladezyklen

Die Akkus sind Langzeit-Begleiter für Ihre Transport Roboter, denn sie machen problemlos mehrere tausende Ladezyklen mit.

Sparsamer
Energieverbrauch

Durch das geringe Gewicht der Lithium-Batterien verbrauchen die Automated Guided Vehicles weniger Energie.

Geringe
Selbstentladung

Durch die geringe Selbstentladung sind die Transport Roboter auch nach längeren Standzeiten sofort wieder einsetzbar.

Klein, leicht,
kompakt

Die Lithium-Batterien sind perfekt für handliche fahrerlose Transportsysteme. Können aber auch extrem robust ausfallen.

In 3 Schritten zum intelligenten Transport Roboter

Bei fahrerlosen Transportsystemen (FTS) ist eine intelligente Kommunikation das A und O. Und weil die Lithium-Batterie das Herzstück ist, steht sie im Mittelpunkt der Optimierung. Wesentlicher Bestandteil in unseren Akkus ist das Batteriemanagementsystem, das wichtige Parameter überwacht und steuert. Durch das BMS gibt es optionale Schnittstellen für eine relevante Kommunikation und Sie haben die volle Kontrolle über die Ladung und Energieversorgung Ihrer Transport Automation Systeme.

1. Konfigurieren

Schritt 1 ist immer das Konfigurieren einer individuellen Batterie für Ihr Transport Automation System. Sie ist die Basis für die spezifische Entwicklung.

2. Entwickeln

Unser Entwicklerteam führt Simulationen durch, analysiert das Potenzial und die optimale Einbindung der Batterie in die Transport Roboter.

3. Implementieren

Schlussendlich wird der Akku in die fahrerlosen Transportsysteme integriert und in Ihre Produktionslinie eingebunden.